STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2004 No. 3336

DESIGNS

The Designs (Convention Countries) Order 2004

Made - - - - 16th December 2004

Coming into force - - 31st January 2005

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 16th day of December 2004 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty, in exercise of the powers conferred on Her by sections 13(1) and 37(5) of the Registered Designs Act 1949(1), is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered as follows:

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Designs (Convention Countries) Order 2004 and shall come into force on 31st January 2005.
- **2.** The countries specified in Schedule 1 are declared to be convention countries for the purposes of all the provisions of the Registered Designs Act 1949.
 - **3.** The Orders set out in Schedule 2 are hereby revoked.

A K Galloway
Clerk to the Privy Council

SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

CONVENTION COUNTRIES

Albania

Algeria

Andorra

Angola

Antigua and Barbuda

Argentina

Armenia

Australia

Austria

Azerbaijan

Bahamas

Bahrain

Bangladesh

Barbados

Belarus

Belgium

Belize

Benin

Bhutan

Bolivia

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Botswana

Brazil

Brunei Darussalam

Bulgaria

Burkina Faso

Burundi

Cambodia

Cameroon

Canada

Central African Republic

Chad

Chile

China

Columbia

Congo

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Iraq

Costa Rica	
Cote d'Ivoire	
Croatia	
Cuba	
Cyprus	
Czech Republic Denmark	
Djibouti Dominica	
Dominican Republic	
Ecuador	
Egypt	
El Salvador	
Equatorial Guinea	
Estonia	
Faeroe Islands	
Fiji	
Finland	
France (including Overseas Departments and Territories)	
Gabon	
Gambia	
Georgia	
Germany	
Ghana	
Greece	
Grenada	
Guatemala	
Guinea	
Guinea-Bissau	
Guyana	
Haiti	
Holy See	
Honduras	
Hong Kong	
Hungary	
Iceland	
India	
Indonesia	
Iran, Islamic Republic of	
-	

Ireland
Israel
Italy
Jamaica
Japan
Jordan
Kazakhstan
Kenya
Korea, Democratic People's Republic of
Korea, Republic of
Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan
Lao People's Democratic Republic
Latvia
Lebanon
Lesotho
Liberia
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Macao
Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of
Madagascar
Malawi
Malaysia
Maldives
Mali
Malta
Mauritania
Mauritius
Mexico
Moldova, Republic of
Monaco
Mongolia
Morocco
Mozambique
Myanmar
Namibia
Nepal

Netherlands

Netherlands Antilles and Aruba

New Zealand (including the Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau)

Nicaragua

Niger

Nigeria

Norway

Oman

Pakistan

Panama

Papua New Guinea

Paraguay

Peru

Philippines

Poland

Portugal

Qatar

Romania

Russian Federation

Rwanda

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

San Marino

Sao Tome and Principe

Saudi Arabia

Senegal

Serbia and Montenegro

Seychelles

Sierra Leone

Singapore

Slovakia

Slovenia

Solomon Islands

South Africa

Spain

Sri Lanka

Sudan

Suriname

Swaziland

Sweden

Switzerland

Syrian Arab Republic

Taiwan

Tajikistan

Tanzania, United Republic of

Thailand

Togo

Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago

Tunisia

Turkey

Turkmenistan

Uganda

Ukraine

United Arab Emirates

United States of America (including Puerto Rico and all territories and possessions)

Uruguay

Uzbekistan

Venezuela

Viet Nam

Zambia

Zimbabwe

SCHEDULE 2

Article 3

REVOCATIONS

Designs (Convention Countries) Order 1994(2)

Designs (Convention Countries) (Amendment) Order 1995(3)

Designs (Convention Countries) (Amendment) Order 2000(4)

Designs (Convention Countries) (Amendment) (No. 2) Order 2000(5)

Designs (Convention Countries) (Amendment) Order 2001(6)

⁽²⁾ SI 1994/3219.

⁽³⁾ SI 1995/2988.

⁽⁴⁾ SI 2000/1115.

⁽⁵⁾ SI 2000/1561.

⁽**6**) SI 2001/2125.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, pursuant to section 13(1) of the Registered Designs Act 1949, declares the countries specified in Schedule 1 to be convention countries for the purposes of all the provisions of the Registered Designs Act 1949. In this Order the term "country" includes colonies, protectorates and territories by reason of section 13(3) of that Act.

The majority of the countries specified in the Order have acceded to the International Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property ("the Paris Convention") (as revised at Stockholm in 1967) (Cmnd. 4431) or the Agreement establishing the World Trade Organisation (including the Agreement on Trade Related aspects of Intellectual Property Rights) (Cm. 2556-59, 2561-69, 2571-74).

With the exception of Andorra, Angola, Saudi Arabia, Serbia and Montenegro and the Seychelles all of the specified countries have already been declared to be convention countries by the Designs (Convention Countries) Order 1994 (SI 1994/3219) (as amended by the other four instruments listed in Schedule 2). This Order revokes all those earlier Orders and provides a consolidated list of countries that are convention countries for the purposes of all the provisions of the Registered Designs Act 1949.