STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2000 No. 1561

DESIGNS

The Designs (Convention Countries) (Amendment) (No. 2) Order 2000

 Made
 14th June 2000

 Coming into force
 14th July 2000

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 14th day of June 2000 Present.

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty, in exercise of the powers conferred on Her by section 13(1) and section 37(5) of the Registered Designs Act 1949(1), is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:—

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Designs (Convention Countries) (Amendment) (No. 2) Order 2000 and shall come into force on 14th July 2000.
- **2.** The countries specified in the Schedule to this Order are convention countries for the purposes of all of the provisions of the Registered Designs Act 1949.
- **3.** The Designs (Convention Countries) Order 1994(**2**) shall be amended by the insertion in Schedule 1 thereto of the countries specified in the Schedule to this Order in proper alphabetical order.

A.K. Galloway
Clerk of the Privy Council

^{(1) 1949} c. 88.

⁽²⁾ S.I.1994/3219 as amended by S.I. 1995/2988 and S.I. 2000/1115.

Schedule

Cambodia

Fiji

Grenada

Equatorial Guinea

Lao Peoples Democratic Republic

Oman

Panama

Papua New Guinea

Qatar

Sao Tome and Principe

Solomon Islands

United Arab Emirates

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, made pursuant to section 13(1) of the Registered Designs Act 1949 with a view to the fulfilment of obligations under the International Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property ("the Paris Convention") (as revised at Stockholm in 1967) (Cm. 4431) and under the Agreement establishing the World Trade Organisation (including the Agreement on Trade Related aspects of Intellectual Property Rights) (Cm. 2556–59, 2561–69, 2571–74), declares Cambodia, Fiji, Grenada, Equatorial Guinea, Lao Peoples Democratic Republic, Oman, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Sao Tome and Principe, Solomon Islands and United Arab Emirates to be convention countries for the purposes of all of the provisions of the Registered Designs Act 1949.